kumbh Mela 2010 Haridwar
kumbh Mela Haridwar 2010
Kumbh Mela is a mass Hindu Pilgrimage. It occurs four times every twelve years and rotates among four locations:
  • Haridwar : Haridwar along Ganga river
  • Ujjain : Ujjain along the Kshipra river
  • Prayag : Prayag at the confluence of Ganga and Yamuna and mythical Saraswati river
  • Nashik : Nashik along the Godavari river
so a Kumbh Mela is practically held every three years across our locations.

Ardh Kumbh Mela is celebrated every six years at Haridwar and Allahabad, while the Purna (complete) Kumbh always takes place at Allahabad every twelve years. The Maha Kumbh Mela ('Great' Kumbh Mela) which comes after 12 'Purna Kumbh Melas' which is after every 144 years is also held at Allahabad. The story behind kumbh Mela dates back to the time when the Devas were defeated by Asuras under the leadership of King Bali.After this the control of universe became in hands of Asuras. The Devas pleaded before Lord Vishnu who asked them to treat Asuras in a diplomatic manner and asked them to organise 'Samudra Manthan' , which will lead to 'Amrita', or nectar of immortality. Samudra Manthan Samudra Manthan (The churning of ocean) was very complex process.For this they required a huge rope which can be used to rotate a churning rod.Mount Mandra was used as churning rod and snake Vasuki, the snake which resides on neck of Lord Shiva, was used as churning rope.Lord Vishnu took the form of A tortoise or Kshyap avatara to support the great mountain on their back.The process of churning of Kshir Sagar started, with Devas pulling the snake from one end and the Asuras pulling from the another end.Devtas pulled Vasuki from tail end while Asuras pulled from the mouth end,which affected them as Vasuki, the king of snakes, was tremendously poisonous. After several days of continuous churning of the sea the first thing that came out was the 'Halahal' poison.The 'Halahal vish' was very poisonous and was degrading the universe with its deadly nature.All the Devtas and Sages requested Lord Shiva to help this world from that poison.Accepting whose offer Lord Shiva drank the poison and kept it in his throat,due to which his throat became blue.Since then Lord Shiva is also called 'NeelKanth.'

After that a series of things came out from the sea.These things were equally divided between Devas and Asuras.These things listed in order of their appearance are as follows
  • Halahal - The destroying poison.Accepted by Lord Shiva.
  • Sura or Varuni - The goddess and creator of wine.Granted to Asuras.
  • Apsaras - Various divine dancers. Granted to Devtas.
  • Kaustubha- A rare diamond.Granted to Asuras.
  • Ucchaishravas- The divine several headed horse.Granted to Asuras.
  • Kalpvriksha - The wish granting tree.Granted to Devtas.
  • Kamdhenu- The wish granting divine cow.Granted to Devtas.
  • Airavata - The divine elephant.Granted to Devtas.
  • Lakshmi - The Goddess of Fortune and Wealth. Vishnu and Her were reunited after having been separated for many ages.
  • Shranga - The divine bow of Lord Vishnu. Shankha - The divine conch of Lord Vishnu.
  • Chandra - The divine moon.
  • Dhanvantri - The divine doctor. Granted to Devtas.
  • Amrita - The nectar of immortality.
In the end Dhanvantari came out with Amrita. When he appeared there was a heavy contesting between the Devas and the Asuras. After this Lord Vishnu appeared as a beautiful and enchanting lady known as Mohini, meaning the one who attracts.Mohini, took the pot of Amrita and told them that she would equally distribute Amrita in all. For this she asked both Devas and Asuras to sit in different rows and started to distribute Amrita. But she swapped the pot of Amrita with Sura, which also appeared from the Samudra Manthan, whenever she fed the Asuras.Hence, she fed the Devtas with the Amrita and the Asuras with the wine.An Asura named Rahu-Ketu saw this and quietly moved from the row of Asuras to the row of Devas and as a result was able to drink the Amrita.Surya (Sun) and Chandra(Moon) saw him drinking the Amrita and pointed that he was Asuras. Angry of which Lord Vishnu ,in form of Mohini, cut his head with his divine discus , the Sudarshan Chakra. But as Rahu-Ketu had already drunk the Amrita, nectar of immortality, he cant die.He was divided in two parts named Rahu and Ketu, which are still alive.

After knowing that they have been crooked by Vishnu, Asuras again ran to take control of the Amrita.This time Garuda, the divine bird and the vehicle of Lord Vishnu, ran with the pot containing the Amrita, while Surya(sun), Chandra(moon) and Brihaspati defended him from Asuras. This process continued for 12 human years during which the pot of Amrita was kept at 12 places.In these 8 places lies in Devlok, or on divine dimension,while the 4 places are on earth.These places are Prayag(Allahbad),Haridwar,Ujjain and Nasik.While keeping some drops of Amrita dripped from the pot at these places due to which after every 12 years kumbh mela is celebrated at these places.The place where the Amrita spilled at haridwar is called the 'Brahm Kund' .